How To Write An Effective PPC Campaign

Pay-Per-Click advertising can be an extremely effective way to promote your product or service online. Unfortunately, without the correct understanding, PPC can also become a very fast way for you to lose loads of time and money with no real results. In this article we show you the secret to creating a simple and effective PPC campaign from the beginning.

On Wednesday October 19th, the College Board announced that Americans now owe over $1 Trillion in student loans, officially exceeding the amount of American credit card debt.

While debt in general has almost always been frowned upon and considered irresponsible,  student loans have frequently been looked at as “an investment in your future”.

Many internet marketers and online business owners have taken similar loans, accrued large amounts of credit card debt, or at the very least, dropped some serious cash in order to educate themselves or fuel their marketing efforts.

Now… don’t get me wrong.

There is certainly a lot to be said for investing in yourself and your education.

Unfortunately, there are also a lot of ways to easily waste a lot of time and money in a very fast way.

Pay-Per-Click advertising is by far one of the most popular methods for marketing a product or service online.  However, without a proper understanding of the PPC basics and how to get started you may find yourself throwing money away for clicks that don’t convert.

The inner-workings of PPC networks and campaigns combine to form a complex matrix of different agreements and understandings.

Exchanging bids for ad exposure, clicks for bids, and keywords for audiences can get very confusing, and potentially really expensive, very quickly.

Just because you take out a 2nd mortgage to fund your PPC campaigns does not mean that they will payoff.

Advertising networks have the responsibility of showing your advertisments and directing users to your website BUT it is not all on their shoulders.  It is important to understand what your responsibilities are as an advertiser and what you can expect from the network in return.

In this article we will look at what it takes to create successful PPC campaigns from the beginning…

 

What Do They Want From Me?

Truly effective PPC campaigns are built upon the foundation of carefully planned business goals and market research.

Just like a college professor would expect you to have studied for the final test, advertising networks expect you, as an advertiser, to perform highly detailed research.  Performing detailed market research is the only way to effectively plan out careful steps that can systematically be implemented, resulting in an mutually beneficial PPC campaign generating sales for you and revenue for the network.

While there are indeed many influential pieces involved in completing the PPC campaign puzzle, there are a couple of basic questions that advertising networks will expect you to have already answered before creating any PPC campaign.

 

1)  What is the goal of the PPC campaign?

I assume that we can all agree that taking out a large student loan to cover the full cost of attending an institution without first determining some basic goals is a recipe for disaster.

Likewise, before jumping into the creation of your PPC campaign it is important to have a clear understanding of what you are hoping to accomplish.

  • What objective would the PPC campaign fulfill?
  • What actions do we ultimately want the user to take once on our site?
  • How much can we invest into our PPC campaign?

Answering these simple questions will help make sure that your campaign is based on principles that make a difference for your business while also ensuring that the results will be highly measurable, and therefore, improvable.

 

2)  Who is the target audience of the PPC campaign?

Medical students learn to interact with patients and aid in the natural healing of the human body.  Auto mechanics learn to interact with customers and repair vehicles.  The interactions are probably somewhat similar but both will require specialized experience and training specific to that particular field of work.

Having a clearly defined concept of your ideal customer and what type of interaction would be appropriate, is an important step into developing a solid PPC strategy.

Before creating an enormous list of keywords, you will want to answer some questions about your target market…

  • Who, specifically, does this campaign target?
  • Where do they live?
  • Why do they need this product or service?
  • What is their state-of-mind?

 

3)  What keywords or phrases are relevant to the PPC campaign’s goal and target audience?

This final step of preparatory research is the most detailed and builds on the answers of the first 2 questions.

Get inside your ideal customer’s head

  • What terms would they type into search engine if they wanted to purchase the product you are promoting?
  • Are there similar products that might provide you with even more related keywords?  What are they?

 

Free tools like the Google AdWords Keyword Tool can help you discover hundreds and hundreds of additional keywords related to your main business idea or product.

Many students throughout the years have found it easier to study and memorize information by using note-cards to organize the information into smaller, related subjects.

Like the note-cards, after having created a list of keywords relevant to your target audience, you should then organize these keywords into several smaller ad groups.  You can organize your ads into groups of related keywords, themes, or groups that target specific products.

Sorting your keywords into ad groups will provide for easier ad creation, and later, accurate tracking of results.

 

Leaving School Prepared For The Real World

Graduating college, with or without student debt, is the time to move out into the workforce and put your newly acquired skills into practice.

With the skeleton and backbone of your campaign in place it is also time for your campaign to makes its way out into the world.  We accomplish this by fleshing out your research with written ads for each of your different ad groups.

Here we will cover a couple of tips for campaign creation and effective ad writing.

 

1)  Convey your USP to those that view your ad

A Unique Selling Proposition is a specific benefit or focus that differentiates your ad from those created by competitors.  Each ad group should have its own theme and unique selling proposition.

In the same way that it would be silly to omit a college degree from a resume or job application, it is extremely important to convey what makes your company or product different from those of your competitors with the ad itself.

The more value you can uniquely provide, the more likely it is that it will be YOUR ad that gets clicked.

 

2)  Investigate how your competitors’ ads are written

Take each of your keywords and type them into Google’s search engine.  Take note of how your competitors have written their ads.

Not only will this give you a good idea about what you are up against, more importantly, it is a great starting point for writing your ads.

This is a simple exercise that can really get your creative juices flowing and provide you with some creative ideas for your advertisements.

 

3)  Create ads that contain the target keyword

Where and how often your ad gets displayed is typically determined by the advertising network based on 2 different factors–maximum bid amount, and your ad’s quality score.

An ad’s quality score is determined based on how directly the keyword, ad text, and website relate to each other.

A quick and easy tip for creating ads with high quality ratings is to simply include the target keyword within the ad itself.

Write creative advertisements that use your target keyword in the title, body, and link portions of the ad.  This will quickly raise your ad’s quality score which not only means having your ad shown to more people… it usually means lower cost per-click as well.

 

Irresponsible Borrowing VS Investments For The Future

The main difference between irresponsibly acquiring debt and investing in education is actually in the follow through.  

Nobody gets judgmental with a successful doctor or lawyer for taking student loans BUT if somebody gets halfway through med school and punks out… it seems to be an entirely different story in the eyes of others.

Same can be said of internet businesses and marketers.  Nobody has a problem with a guru spending $10,000 per month on advertising but if a newby were spending that amount of money to no avail… it is seen as a total waste.

The advertising network’s job is to display your ad to the people you tell it to.  By diligently researching first and carefully taking specific action next, the network’s job not only becomes easier but actually becomes much more effective and profitable for both you AND the advertising network.

Make the most of your valuable time and money by following the simple steps outlined in this article to create simple and effective PPC campaigns.

 

To learn more about effective traffic and advertsing strategies check out the YaghiLabs Internet Business Academy where we show you how to get the right type of traffic to quickly profit from any online business.

Enroll by clicking the link below…

http://jimyaghi.com/ylacademy

 

What Is A PPC Campaign?

While Pay-Per-Click advertising is, without a doubt, one of the most popular methods for advertising online, it is also one of the most misunderstood. In this article we dispel jungle-like panic and pandemonium by defining and describing the term “PPC Campaign”.

On Tuesday October 18th, cages containing 56 dangerous and exotic animals were thrown open by private Muskingum County Animal Farm owner, Terry Thompson.

After letting the animals loose, Thompson took his own life leaving the Zanesville Law Enforcemnt officials with a very dangerous and delicate situation.  A shoot-to-kill order was given Tuesday night and absolute panic and pandemonium ensued.  Schools were closed and civilians were instructed to remain indoors.

The internet itself has made it very common for new online business owners and internet marketers to quickly become overwhelmed by information overload.

Internet marketers are bombarded with loads of information from latest-and-greatest courses, to so-called “gurus”, and one product launch after another.  No one’s even teaching the same thing.  Different “mentors” and courses seem to contradict one another…

Just like in Zanesville Ohio, it’s like there are hundreds of wild and dangerous animals that have been set free on the internet causing widespread mayhem, panic, and confusion.

For being one of the most popular methods for advertising on the internet, Pay-Per-Click advertising is very widely misunderstood.  It is a simple system but many tend to forget or ignore the basics of how this type of system actually works.


With very little understanding of what the system is actually designed to do or what the outcome will be, PPC newbies are prone to panic and freeze at the sight of the tigers.

To eliminate some stress and misunderstanding, here we define and describe the different attributes of Pay-Per-Click advertising, and specifically, PPC Campaigns…

 

Is It A Lion? A Tiger? A Bear? Oh… My Head Hurts…

Pay-Per-Click, or PPC, is an internet based advertising model that is used to by advertisers to direct specifically targeted visitors to a specific website or webpage.

While there are a few others, the current major advertising networks include Google, Yahoo, Bing, and Facebook.

The name, PPC, actually comes from the basic function of these different advertising networks themselves.

Advertisers indicate which keywords they want to target and set a maximum bid amount that they are willing to pay in exchange for having their ad shown to users searching for that specific keyword.

Each time a user searches for a keyword or phrase that matches your company’s list of keywords , there is the opportunity for your ad to be shown to the user.

When a network user clicks on your ad and becomes a visitor to your company’s website, you are charged.  Advertisers are expected to pay the advertising network per click that their ad receives… hence, pay-per-click.

 

Caging the PPC Campaign Beast

A PPC Campaign is the combination of your list of target keywords, bid amounts, and written advertisements.

Let’s use an example to help illustrate the function of a PPC campaign a little further…

While Terry Thompson’s “farm” was a private facility and not open to the public… for this example let’s say that you own a local Zoo as a business.

After having compiled a sizable list of keywords and phrases relevant to your business (Zoo) the keywords should then be broken up into smaller “ad groups”.  Ad groups are most helpful and effective when organized by grouping similar terms, themes, and/or points of focus together.

One ad group might focus on the Bengal Tigers.  Another might focus on the educational resources available at the Zoo.  Maybe one might focus on the announcement of a new aquarium.

When ad groups are constructed in this manner they can be seen as mini-versions of your overall PPC campaign.

While the goal of the overall PPC Campaign would be to attract visitors to your website and ultimately to entice the visitors to come and visit the Zoo…  the “ad groups” serve as small pieces of the whole, each with their own specific focus, working and campaigning together to achieve the same final goal –getting people to the Zoo.

“PPC Campaign” is a term used to generally describe the different components of a company’s PPC activity, including the combination of keywords, ad groups, bid amounts, and written advertisements.

The events that took place in Zanesville Ohio were terribly unfortunate.  While there were some survivors, 49 of the 56 escaped animals, including 18 endangered Bengal tigers and 17 lions, were killed in order to protect the residents of the Zanesville community.

 

Now… a shoot-to-kill order has not yet been passed on the internet.  As far as I can tell, there will always be misleading and confusing information available and unfortunately, very prevalent.

To skip the confusion and learn the fastest way to start an internet business check out the YaghiLabs Internet Business Academy.  Inside, students are learning how to easily implement correct and effective traffic and advertising strategies for their online business.

 See it all here…

http://jimyaghi.com/ylacademy

What Is Bid Optimization?

Bid Optimization is a tool that can be used to truly maximize your PPC advertising efforts. Here we learn from Phoenix Jones, a real-life superhero, how to easily add super-powers to your PPC campaigns and become the hero that your industry needs.

Real-life Superhero, Phoenix Jones, was arrested Sunday morning for allegedly assaulting a group of 4 with pepper spray.

Phoenix has since been released on bail and he has released a 14-minute video of the actual events showing that Jones was actually trying to break up a fight.  Seattle Police Spokesman, Mark Jamieson, maintains that “there was no fight”.

Phoenix is scheduled to appear in court on Thursday, October 13th.

A  misunderstood and elusive nemesis of many business owners and internet marketers is Pay-Per-Click advertising.  Following specific systems and employing superhero sidekick services can help you become a well-regarded hero in your own particular niche.

In this article we take closer look into the nightlife of Phoenix Jones to discover how to inject our online advertising efforts with super-human powers, truly maximizing their effectiveness.

Let’s start at the very beginning…

 

A Very Good Place To Start

Pay-Per-Click marketing is a bid based, auction type of paid advertising.  Each advertiser on a particular network sets their own maximum amount, or bid, that they are willing to pay for a specific ad location based upon the keywords for which they are trying to rank.

The advertising network, such as Google or Facebook, automatically plays out the auction each time a visitor triggers the ad spot.  In search engine results ad spots, the automatic auction takes place when a user searches for the keyword that the advertiser has bid upon.

In addition to bid amounts, advertisers have the option to customize their keywords by setting certain parameters designed to target specific searchers.  Specifications that can be outlined include the searcher’s geographic location, day and time of search, and many others.

Each time someone searches for your particular keyword, the combination of your predetermined bid amount and the outlined targeting specifications are automatically considered by the network and a winner is determined.

When there are multiple ad spots available there can be more than one winner.  Generally the highest bidder gets the #1 position.  While typically influenced by the amount of the bid, the winners’ positions on the page may also be affected by other factors such as the quality of the ad and how relevant the ad is to the linked content.

Advertisers then are expected to pay the network for every click that their ad receives.

 

World’s Finest Team-Up

It is very possible that the main thing that has put Phoenix Jones in trouble recently has been the possibility that he was ‘saving’ those who did not wish to be saved.  Some of those who were hit with Phoenix’s pepper spray stated that they were simply “dancing and frolicking” and not fighting as Phoenix suspected.

What if there was a sure-fire way to know that you would never get mixed up in trying to tell the difference?

Enter your online sidekick!

Bid optimization is a type of system that helps minimize costs by finding the most effective keywords in your campaign and focusing on them exclusively.

This is no small task.  Bid optimization programs utilize software solutions that employ a number of different algorithms designed to know which keywords are effective and which aren’t.  This helps to keep costs-per-click low by focusing efforts on the right keywords that have already proven to convert ad viewers into visitors, and ultimately, into loyal customers.

Properly taking advantage of bid optimization ensures that you are becoming a hero to the right people and focusing exclusively on those that are actively searching for your help.

 

Weapons At The Ready

Like Phoenix Jones’ tazer-nightstick, pepper spray, and net-gun there are just as many tools, resources, and weapons available to you as a business owner and marketer.

Free services, like Google’s Conversion Optimizer, are able to maximize your reach and effectiveness by adjusting your campaign’s focus based on its extremely detailed findings.

For example:

Google’s bid optimizer is capable of realizing that some of your non-converting clicks may be coming from specific geographical locations.  Let’s say that visitors from Canada are actively clicking on your advertisement but never ever end up purchasing anything.  That would make perfect sense if, for the sake of this example we assume that, you are unable to ship to Canada.  Google’s Conversion Optimizer is able to identify this pattern and redirect your advertising efforts into targeting users located in the United States.

 

Truly an advertiser’s indispensable sidekick, bid optimization, helps to lower costs by eliminating the need to spend unnecessary funds on keywords that give only impressions and no clicks.  This is especially important for those with smaller advertising budgets.

 

Best Superhero Practices For Any PPC Network

Now, obviously Google’s Conversion Optimizer can not be utilized on other advertising networks or platforms.

Here is a short list of Superhero practices proven to make the most out of any PPC advertising campaign on any network…

1) Determine your cost-per-click by analyzing your target cost-per-acquisition

Before embarking on any PPC advertising adventure it is extremely important to determine the maximum cost-per-click you’re willing to pay for your target keyword or phrase.

One of the best ways to design a new PPC campaign is to first determine your cost-per-acquisition, or how much you will have to spend in advertising before achieving a single sale.

Allow me to walk you through the short process…

Let’s say that the average sale of your product is $100 and your profit margin is 20%.  That will ultimately leave $20 of profit for each product you sell. Let’s also assume that your site’s conversion rate is 1%.  Therefore, for every 100 visitors you receive from your PPC ad, you can realistically expect to make 1 sale.  Based on this example, if you have $20 to spread over 100 visitors, you have $0.20 to spend per click.

Using this simple formula makes it easy to set a cost-per-click based on real numbers that can later be tracked, adjusted, and tweaked to maximize your campaign’s potential.

2) Utilize demographic bidding

If you know that a particular group will respond better to your ads than other demographics, take advantage of some of the optional parameters and specifications to ensure that your ads show more frequently to those that are likely to respond in a positive way.

3) Don’t adjust your bids too frequently

Be careful to not adjust your bids too frequently.  It takes a while to be able to actually see the effects of new bid amounts.  By frequently changing bid amounts, it can quickly become very difficult to track and analyze your results especially if you make multiple changes all at once.

Attributing successes and failures to the appropriate changes is key in optimizing your PPC campaigns over time.  The insight provided by not adjusting your bids too often will help you realize what adjustments can be made to support your click-per-acquisition goals.

 

Save Your Money.  Save The World.

Phoenix Jones certainly is not the first Superhero to eventually be seen as the bad guy.

In a popular film about a certain caped crusader, a pivotal character is quoted as saying, “You either die a hero or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain”.

On the internet this is absolutely avoidable.  By utilizing bid optimization services or implementing simple manually maintained practices you can become and remain the hero that your industry needs and deserves.

 

Inside the Internet Business Academy we are teaching students to build legitimate super-powered businesses online and showing them how to get the right kind of traffic for cheap and very commonly, free!

Check it all out here…

http://jimyaghi.com/ylacademy

~Zak

What Is A Landing Or Capture Page?

“Landing Page” and “Capture Page” are common terms used among internet marketers. In this article we discuss the distinct differences between the two while respectfully paying homage to the late Apple CEO, Steve Jobs.

This week the world mourns the death of 56-year-old Apple co-founder, Steve Jobs, who died on October 5, 2011 after 7 years of battling pancreatic cancer.

Days after his untimely death, internet users continue to post comments and well-deserved respects paid to Steve and the legacy he has left behind.

Steven Paul Jobs made tremendous advancements in technology and vision during his time spent with companies like Apple, LucasFilm, Pixar, and The Walt Disney Company.  Steve profoundly shaped the face of modern technology, revolutionized 6 different industries and set a high-level standard for business leaders around the world.

When we take a look at Steve Jobs’ accomplishments and innovations it is easy to see that what he DID created a legacy to be respectfully remembered for years to come.

Below we look to Steve Jobs’ example to help us define and dissect the purpose of 2 common elements of internet business building – Landing Pages and Capture Pages.

 

Is There A Difference?

The terms “Landing Page” and “Capture Page” are used almost interchangeably anymore.  While there are numerous similarities and a capture page could technically be considered a landing page it is important to understand the distinction between the two.

 

What Is A Landing Page?

A Landing page is pretty simple to understand.  It is exactly what it sounds like it would be – it is the page at which your visitors arrive or ‘land’ after being navigated to your site.  It could be your home page, blog, or any other page on your site.

In fact, it is very common for websites to incorporate multiple landing pages all serving different purposes.  Your landing page should also be designed to accomplish a single focused objective.

Like Steve Jobs’ influence and legacy, the real benefit of landing pages comes from what they DO or ACCOMPLISH and not necessarily from their existence alone.

Landing pages should provide a very customized and personal experience for your visitor.  When designing your landing page, consider where the visitor has just come from.  Did they click through a link from a Facebook post or was it a targeted ad on Google?

Keeping in mind where your visitors are arriving from will give you invaluable insight into who they are and how you can provide them with what they are looking for.  Allow your landing page to be a logical extension of the advertisement or link that your visitor was originally interested in.

By matching who your visitor is with what they are looking for your chances of engaging the visitor automatically go up.  This is the basic concept of conversions and conversion rates.  The goal is to convert someone who stumbled onto your site from being a random stranger and turn them into an interested viewer which will then lead to them becoming a willing buyer.

Steve Jobs and Apple products are extremely well known for their ability to provide their customers with a high-level of attention to aesthetics and visual appeal in their products.

Likewise, well designed landing pages support higher conversion rates than simply directing visitors to the home page of your website.

Don’t force your visitors to fend for themselves amidst countless links, images, and any number of other distractions.  Create a captive audience by providing your visitors with EXACTLY what they are looking for.

 

When to Use Landing Pages

Targeted landing pages should be utilized anytime you can control or have specific knowledge of where your visitors will be coming from and you have a specific outcome or goal you are hoping to accomplish.

Simple sales, opt-ins, or even engaging a visitor into reading a specific article are examples goals or outcomes you could be directing your visitors toward.

Landing pages are especially critical when implementing paid traffic techniques. Banner ads, sponsor links, or Pay-per-click advertising can be very expensive.  It is important to make the most of every single visitor by employing well crafted landing pages.

 

Well Then… What Is A Capture Page?

A capture page is a type of landing page created with only one specific purpose – to get a visitor to enter their information into a form and subscribe to your list or feed.

The most common way to do this online is to offer some type of bribe, something free and enticing, in exchange for your visitor’s name, email address, and occasionally phone number.  In the internet marketing world written reports, blueprints, audio recordings, and training courses are commonly used to bribe visitors into exchanging their personal information for the promised content.

Have you ever noticed how Apple seems to have this MASSIVE cult-like following of loyal fanboys and customers?  It is because of the incredible amount of value they provide.  Thanks to Steve Jobs and other visionaries… Apple has provided some excellent technological solutions and completely over-delivered on ALL of their promises.

Arguably… headlines, graphics, and limited navigation will play a role in the rate of conversion a capture page generates.  The most important thing to consider though is that your bribe must ABSOLUTELY be something of real value that the visitor will find useful and informative.  That is the ONLY way that ANY visitor will be willing to give you their information and remain on your list.

For the sake of longevity and the ability to continue to market services and products to this list, the information or bribe you provide must over-deliver and be extremely valuable to your customer visitors.

 

The most successful captures all follow this exact same formula…

  1. Describe a problem your visitor is experiencing
  2. Offer a solution in exchange for the visitor’s information
  3. Deliver the solution

A 4th step would then be to continue to provide value and usefulness to this list and then repeating the process.

Using Steve Jobs and Apple as an example…  Apple provides their customers with more usefulness and value by offering additional related products.  There are many exclusive software programs, accessories, as well as other devices that already customers are most likely interested in.

By staying in contact and developing a relationship with the people who chose to opt-in to your email list you can create a very valuable asset to earn from over and over again.  Capture pages are frequently implemented in this manner as effective components in marketing systems that benefit from a lead ‘captured’ once and then leveraged to profit from for weeks and months down the road.

 

Is It An iPod, iPad, iTouch, Or iPhone?

While providing the world with innumerable amounts of information… the internet has also proved quite effective in providing WAY too many terms that are eventually get used incorrectly and, even more confusing, interchangeably.

This situation is no different.

A Capture Page is technically a form of Landing Page BUT a Landing Page does not necessarily need to be a Capture Page or contain an opt-in form.

  • A Landing Page provides valuable content and information relevant to the visitor’s interest by directly relating to what the visitor was originally searching for.
  • A Capture Page provides valuable content in exchange for the visitor’s email address or other contact information.

 

Steve Jobs’ ingenuity and legend have provided the world with technological advances and greater understanding of what’s possible.

Take a lesson from Steve’s example and begin using Landing Pages and Capture Pages in the most efficient way to supplement the rest of your business building efforts.

 

The Internet Business Academy has taught our students the EXACT methods we use here at YaghiLabs to design and build websites and landing pages to effortlessly convert visitors into customers.

Check it out by following the link below…

http://jimyaghi.com/ylacademy

~Zak

How To Effectively Do Affiliate Marketing

A behind the scenes look into the creation of Jeff Jensen’s new graphic novel, “Green River Killer: A True Detective Story”, outlines specific steps to effectively market affiliate offers online.

Known as the Green River Killer, Gary Ridgway is an American serial killer who is currently serving 48 life sentences for the numerous murders committed during the 80’s and 90’s.

Jeff Jensen’s graphic novel released on September 13th entitled “Green River Killer: A True Detective Story” retells the true story of his father, Tom Jensen, and his hunt for serial killer, Gary Ridgway.

Despite its somewhat controversial medium, the book has earned itself quite a bit of attention from critics, writers, as well as hundreds of ‘comic book’ and ‘true crime’ fans.

Affiliate marketing is very possibly the most highly rewarding low-risk internet business model out there.  The problem is that most affiliate marketers are going about the process all wrong.

In this article we will take a look behind the scenes of the instantly successful graphic novel to learn how to effectively sell affiliate products online in 4 simple steps.

 

Step #1 – Discover a Profitable Niche

Choosing an appropriate niche based around your interests and creating the RIGHT type of content are absolutely critical to the success of any affiliate promotion.

Jeff Jensen decided to share a story of which he had expert knowledge.  In fact, by retelling his father’s story, Jeff was naturally provided with exclusive “insider information” that others did not have available to them.

Don’t misunderstand, the story of the Green River Killer is in no way new to the mainstream media.  There have been numerous movies, books, and even songs portraying the hunt for the once at-large serial killer.

These already-existent products help to support the affiliate business model and certainly contributed to the instant success of Jeff Jensen’s new graphic novel.  Jeff must have known that there are millions of “comic book” fans and millions of “true crime” fans that actively pay money for products similar to his that are based on similar topics.

The fact that similar products are being bought and sold within a specific niche should confirm and emphasize your decision to market within that industry.  There is money to be made where people are already spending money.

 

Step #2 – Create Relevant Content

The information provided to Jeff by his father, Tom, gave Jeff additional insight and expert level knowledge on a subject that others had already made prevalent and popular.

Jeff shared what he knew about a subject in which he was very interested and knowledgeable.

In affiliate marketing it is important to choose to promote products and offers that you are personally interested in for a number of different reasons.  One of which is that it will be MUCH easier for you to continue building a business if it is based on something you already love.  Maybe even more important though is the fact that the information you take an interest in is most likely interesting, informative, entertaining to others as well.

You can easily convert your passionate knowledge of a subject into in-demand content by making it available to others online.  The coolest part of this process is that relevant topical content will automatically attract interested visitors to your website or blog.

When creating content, be sure to keep your web audience in mind.  Write articles that you would be interested in reading.

Provide content relevant to your affiliate offers.

It is important to recognize where most web users go to find the content they are interested in…  search engines.

You can be sure that people who stumble onto your site from a search they performed are already interested in what you are sharing, and ultimately selling, because it directly correlates with what they were originally searching for.

 

Step #3 – Build Trust and Confidence

One of the appeals of Jeff Jensen’s new book comes from the fact that he wasn’t afraid to release it in his own voice.  Jeff chose to utilize a unique media type that naturally caused his story to stand out.  The story of the Green River Killer had never before been told in a graphic novel format.  Jeff provided a relevant, original, and  informative story in a unique way that was all his own.

When you let your personality shine through in the content you produce your visitors are able to relate with you.  Your voice is important.  No one else in the entire world has the exact same ideas, opinions, or experiences that you do.  Let that come through in your sharing.  Allow others to develop a relationship with you through your content.

The important to note here is that when you provide EXTREMELY valuable content and over-deliver, your visitors will do more than trust you… they will genuinely LIKE you.

 

Step #4 – Monetize

Monetization is a big fancy that gets thrown around a lot by internet marketers.  The concept of monetization can easily be simplified into a short statement, “asking for money”.

Those that return to your site LIKE you.  They are even more than just targeted visitors that are interested in your content.  They are are also very willing to buy from you as well.  It is important to give your returning visitors an opportunity to give you money for the entertainment or information you have provided.

These visitors are interested in what you have to say.  Show them where to find out more.  Use your affiliate links to provide your returning visitors with products and information relevant to what you have already shared with them.

 

Walking Backwards

Most affiliate marketers never gain a real understanding of these 4 simple steps.  In reality, the majority of affiliate marketers actually try to enforce this formula completely backwards.

It is very common for affiliates to provide only enough information to convince the viewer to “opt-in” to their email list.  After joining this list the visitor is frequently assaulted with affiliate offers, sales pitches, and new product launches.

The formula as outlined above provides a much more natural progression for the visitors as well as for the growth of your business.  Longevity is key to producing an affiliate marketing business that will continue to grow and benefit you as time goes on.

 

To sum up…

  1. Choose to promote affiliate offers that you are personally interested in
  2. Share content in your own voice
  3. Allow your content to automatically attract interested visitors
  4. Use your affiliate links to provide even more value to your visitors

Module 3 of the YaghiLabs Internet Business Academy explains in great detail how to plan and follow specific business models proven to lead to profit online FAST.

Join the Internet Business Academy by clicking the link below…

http://jimyaghi.com/ylacademy 

~Zak

Why Does Google Hate Affiliates?

Having a hard time advertising on Google? Already been kicked off? Johnny Appleseed’s example teaches us how to effectively advertise online despite Google’s apparent hatred for the industry.

September 26th, the birthday of the American legend, Johnny Appleseed, is celebrated all across the country this week.

While there were literally hundreds of pioneers moving westward all throughout American history, John Chapman, also known as Johnny Appleseed, was able to clearly differentiate himself from the rest of the crowd.  Johnny became a true American legend even during his own lifetime by distinguishing himself from the hundreds of other settlers and adventurers of the time.

In Google’s eyes affiliates and their websites are like the hundreds of forgettable settlers that moved from East to West using the same patterns, tools, and even trails! So the answer to your question, Does Google Hate Affiliate Advertisers is unfortunately “YES”.

Allow me to explain…

Today the internet and home business industries are full of stories of marketers being “slapped”, banned, and having their ads completely ignored by Google.

Is there a solution?  What’s an affiliate marketer to do?

 

Location. Location. LOCATION.

Affiliate marketers frequently have a hard time advertising on Google partly due to the fact that there are so many others of them congregating in the same place.

This group of journeyers were all in the same place following the same trails and paths that their fellow pilgrims had set before them.

Affiliates often think ONLY of Google for their online advertising efforts. What’s more, for a long time, they only wanted to be seen on the SEARCH network of Google which only has limited ad spots in high demand as the number of affiliates grew.

This mentality quickly caused the platform to become over-saturated with numerous affiliate offers and links.

To combat the influx of affiliate ads and offers, Google quickly developed a system for recognizing and ignoring any advertisements that were replicated or frequently repeated.

While Google may certainly have the largest audience for advertising  there are other advertising platforms MUCH friendlier toward affiliate advertisers.

Facebook and Bing are big players in online marketing.  These major advertising platforms are effective and somewhat tolerant of affiliate advertisements. But there are more too…

Put yourself in the shoes of an early settler.  Look for new places to advertise that have not been saturated with the same or similar offers.

There are loads of alternatives for advertising.  Try places your competitors haven’t discovered. Whenever you see traffic courses hyping up a NEW traffic method, go the opposite way.  Go to untapped advertising platform or network that others don’t know about or have started to ignore.

Pay-Per-View or banner advertising can be extremely effective and untapped.

Email marketing has been somewhat ignored for a while.  It really is an incredible opportunity and has recently made a major comeback.  Check into eZine or Solo ad opportunities.  Rent someone’s list to advertise to.

Take a lesson from Johnny and the other pilgrims.  Venture into new territories.  Pioneer a new way in your own specific niche.

Being in a different location, gives you an advantage over competing affiliates.  There plenty of other advertising platforms that are willing to approve and display affiliate advertisements.

 

Standing Out From The Crowd

Like hundreds of other travelers, Johnny Appleseed dreamed of experiencing the adventure of moving westward.

I’d imagine that Johnny witnessed the pattern of the overzealous adventurer getting started on their journey repeat itself over and over again.

What is it that caused Johnny to be fondly remembered when so many others were quickly forgotten and dismissed?

 

Like many affiliate marketers, the settlers who simply traveled from East to West didn’t share anything unique with the world.  They all had the same systems in place and followed each other’s example hoping that it would eventually lead them to their anticipated destination.

Google too sees this type of advertising as repetitive, redundant, and unnecessary.

The solution is to distinctly differentiate your offer and advertising.

How?

Johnny Appleseed became a legend by sharing something with others that he was already very passionate about.

The apple’s fruit held great symbolic importance for Johnny.  This caused him to naturally share his expert knowledge of the fruit while travelling.  People quickly responded and deeply connected with his personal expression of the symbolic importance of the apple.

Johnny was able to travel like the other settlers but also created a name and a place for himself everywhere he went because of his point of differentiation.

 

A mistake frequently made by the majority of affiliate and network marketers is that of trying to simply promote the heck out of their offer or opportunity without adding any real personality, interest, or value beyond that already inherent to the quality of the item itself.

Search engines are getting better and better at knowing and ignoring what they consider unoriginal, copy-cat content.

Replicated web pages and blatant sales pitches simply don’t fly anymore.

If you are going to advertise on Google use the platform to build an audience by sharing interesting and valuable content related to your affiliate offers.  Valuable content can quickly generate an audience in ANY niche or industry.

 

New Networks Will Hate Affiliates In Time, Too

Google originally was very accepting and tolerant of affiliate offers and advertisers.  They even openly WELCOMED them to be advertised on their network.

After all… the affiliates paid Google a lot of money to display their ads.  Google used affiliates to test their platform and made a TON of money at the same time.

Unfortunately this same shift ultimately is going to affect even other affiliate-friendly advertising platforms too.

Facebook, Bing and other major advertising platforms are presently tolerant, welcoming, and accepting of affiliate advertisers for the EXACT same reasons that Google once was.

They want the revenue generated by allowing others to pay for advertising.  Scarcity of advertisers and smaller audiences means they need to take all the advertising revenue they can get.

Advertising affiliate offers and business opportunities online is going to become increasingly more difficult in time. Protect yourself by creating your own inspired business projects and shift away from affiliate offers.

YaghiLabs Internet Business Academy can help you identify your own unique ideas and turn them into profitable businesses you can advertise anywhere without competition.

 

Enrol by following the link below…
http://jimyaghi.com/ylacademy

~Zak

Tupac Shakur – Leaving Behind A Business Legacy

Can your business profit even after you’re dead? In this article, we learn from Music legend Tupac Shakur how to create ANY business that profits without us being involved.

This week the world respectfully remembered rapper, Tupac Shakur on the 15th anniversary of his death.

Hip-hop artist, Tupac (also 2Pac, or Makavelli), was shot while stopped at a Las Vegas traffic light in 1996.  He spent 6 days in critical condition before succumbing to respiratory failure and cardiac arrest. On September 13th, 1996 he was pronounced dead. This week, the world mourns Tupac as The Outlawz release a new album in honour of the occasion.

Tupac left behind him a legacy that continues to influence hip-hop music all over the world. Although the man died 15 years ago, his business and record label are still very much alive.

His family continues to earn royalties from Music and movie rights. The business lives on.

Imagine having such a business that earns without your involvement…

 

Stress Causes Heart Attacks

Many small business owners find themselves stuck shouldering all the responsibility and stress associated with running the day-to-day operations of their business while employees are able to clock-in, put in their time, and clock-out.

Smart entrepreneurs strategically build their businesses so they run themselves, leaving the founder free to spend time on the golf course or to start new financial enterprises that increase their worth.

What is it about small-businesses that can stress the owner right out of their mind?  What makes the difference between the big companies and the independent local guys?

 

Tupac Made People Think

It is worth noting that Music is known as the Music BUSINESS, because it is a business. The artistic talent is both an asset and a face that represents the business.

Smart musicians quickly move into record-label ownership. They turn their music into a brand and build equity through adding new artists whose style is congruent with their brand.

While Tupac’s mortal life ended 15 years ago, his legendary music and legacy live on through his label.

His music has undoubtedly had influence on the industry and has helped to form an entirely new generation of rappers and hip-hop stars.

On the anniversary of his death, some of music’s biggest names spoke out about how the respected rapper had impacted their lives…

Snoop Dogg commented:

“His legacy is deeper than anyone could ever imagine… He gave people a different train of thought.  You can be a thug, but be an intelligent thug.  I see gangsters walking around with laptops and becoming smarter.  I attribute that to him because he was a thinker.  He made people that were around him think.”

Shakur was well liked.  His music has become some of the most popular the industry has seen. Many marvel that he has become more famous and sold more records dead than when he was alive. Some, even go so far as to claim Tupac faked his own death, intentionally using the controversy and mystery surrounding his murder to boost record sales!

During his rapping career, Tupac released 6 studio albums, 4 of which went Platinum.  The 1996 album entitled “All Eyez On Me” went 9 times Platinum making him one of the best selling artists in the world!  An amazing accomplishment, certainly.

 

A Double Edged Sword

To further their career, musical artists are often picked-up or signed by record labels when they have demonstrated exceptional talent or potential.

A Music Label typically provides not only financial support for the artist but a system of management as well.  The artist doesn’t need to worry about booking a tour or making sure the rest of the team gets paid.  He is solely responsible for focusing on writing and performing his music.

Although an artist is a hybrid employee of the label, smart musicians build reputation and to gain experience. Soon after, they add business systems and go on to recruit talent into their own labels.

Similarly, small startup businesses often begin the same way. Due to either a lack of funds or not enough business to justify the cost, they typically get their start with very few or no employees at all.

The owner takes on all roles and with a good amount of effort, dedication, and a little bit of luck they are able to build reputation and experience with the in’s and out’s of the market.

For most, however, the problem lies in the fact that once money flows, they do not systematise properly. Even when they hire employees, the owner remains very involved in the task-level assignments.

 

The Miracle of Systemization

There have been 8 albums released SINCE the death of the hip-hop legend.  6 of these albums have gone Platinum and 3 went Multi-Platinum.

According to Forbes Magazine, in 2008, 12 years after Shakur’s death, his estate has earned over 15 million dollars. In 2002, Forbes listed Tupac as number 10 on their Top Earning Dead Celebrities!

The Outlawz, an American hip-hop group founded by Tupac himself released ANOTHER album on the anniversary of their founder’s death entitled “Perfect Timing”.

While alive, Tupac formed the group, invented the lyrical style and formula (basically, the system) which enabled the Outlawz business to run itself.

Interestingly, The Outlawz most regularly performed WITHOUT Tupac or his involvement, even when he was alive.

His function as founder was to be the visionary.  The system was set in place and continues to run today even 15 years after Shakur’s murder.

Working From The Golf Course

In my experience both as an entrepreneur and as an employee I have seen 2 different types of businesses and ownership.

In one type of business the owner has people and systems in place to help the company to run efficiently and smoothly.  This level of detailed systematization is what draws the line between small-business owners and large-business owners.   Large business owners are able to spend their time focusing on the vision and legacy that they are to leave behind.

Whereas, in the second model of business, the business remains small because its system is in the head of the owner alone. It is undocumented. Sadly, this means the owner must run and operate the business and work much harder than the employees.

 

Respectfully Remembered

Tupac’s legacy continues to gain momentum and popularity after his death.  His posthumous albums have made so much money that there many people that think the famous rapper may have even faked his own death!

Take a lesson from rapping legend, Tupac Shakur. Develop a plan and document it ongoingly. So you can, one day, your business too can run exactly the same while you are absent.